Another ding from Stanford… and way forward.

It was not quite unexpected.

When Harvard and Wharton ding you without an interview, then you know your chances at Stanford are slim to none. I hold nothing against them because I am pretty sure there are many great applicants to pick from. I had to take a cold hard look at myself after the Wharton ding, and I came to the realization that there was really nothing I could do about who I am. I made good use of all the opportunities that came my way, but the fact that I came from a poorly understood culture did not really help matters. The Admission Committees simply did not understand me.

I make investment decisions that potentially impact the Nigerian financial markets almost on a daily basis, and I am involved in activities that have changed the actions of the managements of some listed companies in Nigeria. I am pretty sure that if these schools were Nigerian schools, they would have understood the context of candidacy and I would have stood a better chance.

Enough of the whining.

Now I know that I might have to look towards more internationally focused schools, schools that are more likely to understand the context of my candidacy. American schools have exposure to 35 – 40% international applicants. Americans with a population of about 300 million have slots for 60 – 65% of the seats while the remaining 6.7 billion of the World population fight for the remaining seats.

Now, I have to work out a strategy to get off the INSEAD waiting list. And I have a month to apply to London Business School and IESE Business School. If I have the time, I may throw in Chicago Booth into the mix, just for the fun of it.

No, the MBA dreams of the African Doctor is not dead.

I may be bruised and battered but like King Leonidas and his 300 men, my chin is up in the sky, and I will fight on.

Meanwhile, the views on my blog have almost touched 2,000. I am humbled by your belief in me, and I am grateful to those who have encouraged me all along.

I am sorry I do not have better news for you.

8 thoughts on “Another ding from Stanford… and way forward.

  1. tdawg says:

    Sorry to hear about Stanford (got dinged today as well), but I do think you have a really interesting background. I strongly urge you to look into Chicago Booth – it is an incredible program and I think it suits your unique profile. Tho its footprint is relatively small on a global level, I think it’s on the rise and will be on par with Wharton very soon. I am also international, and I’ve come to realize that while “Booth” may not have such a strong brand outside the US, “University of Chicago” certainly does. Anyway, just my two cents.

    Best of luck to you – I’m confident you’re on to great things.

    • knightmba says:

      Thank you for your kind words. I think the timing for Booth may allow me to consider it as an option. I might just apply for the fun of it because I have come to believe that American Schools don’t just get it; they already have their biases set over time. There is something sticking out like a sore thumb in my profile that has become a common denominator, something that they just don’t seem to understand.

      Meanwhile, I wish you all the best in your HBS application.

  2. cavegirlmba says:

    Still keeping my fingers crossed for you…

  3. DC says:

    Hi. Just want to wish you all the best with the next step of your MBA journey. I am also the other side of 30 and have had my fair share of dings but don’t think this is the sole reason for it. I am sure it will work out for the best and, as Derrick Bolton said, if nothing else, the application process should reveal things about yourself. For now (while I wait for decisions) your blog is a great source of comfort. Thank you!

    • knightmba says:

      Hi DC, I am really delighted that my blog has been a great source of comfort for you. I am humbled and it is a great pleasure to hear from you. To quote you “I am sure it will work out for the best”.

  4. Mike says:

    Not trying to be harsh at all here but following your activities on the gmat forums along with reading your blog, I think your tone of arrogance and lack of humility may have also been unintentionally portrayed in your business school apps and that never resonates well with AdComs. There is a fine line between showing confidence/displaying achievements and boasting about your achievements.

    • knightmba says:

      Hi Mike, I value your opinion. The world can only become a better place when the truth is spoken. However, I have made some great friends on both GMAT Club and from this blog, and it has been an awesome experience. Trust me, if you met me in real life, or read my applications, your opinion will go the other way. Plus this is a blog with no holds barred where I pour my heart and feelings. I started it because I wanted to document all my experiences and maybe one day turn it into a memoir. I cannot for once for the life of me remember where I ever talked about my achievements once on GMAT Club. You may have reached your conclusion from reading this blog but certainly not from the forum. But thank you for bringing it to my notice. I will try to tone it down on the forum and in my next applications.

Leave a Reply

