INSEAD Update Sent… Now considering Columbia

No, I am not a masochist.

A lot has happened between January and now. After settling down into my new role, and getting involved in a few other activities, my application has changed dramatically. I am glad to be able to send this update to INSEAD, and at the prompting of my Consultant, I have decided to throw my hat into the ring for a seat in Columbia.

I don’t know how it will go yet, but I am not one for shying away from challenges. I don’t believe in failure. You can only fail forward, and not backward. You have only failed when you fall and you stay down. I don’t know how to stay down.

To keep myself going I have just ordered for two books from Amazon: The Upside of Down by Megan McArdle and Pitch Perfect by Bill McGowan. (Pitch Perfect is actually a pre-order since the book will only be published and made available in April 1, 2014.)I should get the books next week. How the heck I am going to read those books while working an 80 hour week and writing applications and nudging recommenders (yikes! those pesky recommenders thing again) and getting a visa to attend the CFA Annual Conference in Seattle in May, I have no idea.

Maybe I am a masochist…

4 thoughts on “INSEAD Update Sent… Now considering Columbia

  1. tdawg says:

    I’m no expert, but I don’t love this strategy because CBS is rolling admissions and you’re late in the game. You never know tho so best of luck with CBS…Still think you should consider Booth since you had eyed it prior to switching to Penn. Round 3 is tough, obviously, but I think the chances wont be as slim as CBS. Or do both – at this point you are experienced at crafting your story and busting out essays. It’s still work, but the marginal effort/time required to craft an entire application should be a less. And given your unique story, the Booth PPT essay could be an excellent medium to convey your profile and stand out from the rest of the herd.

    DO BOOTH!

    okay, I’ll shut up now.

    • knightmba says:

      Sir, yes sir!! Given the fact that you got into both Booth and CBS, I know for a fact that you know what you are talking about. And, yes I will do Booth because I already made up my mind to do it.

      But here’s the deal. I am using the CBS application to clear my head for Booth, and I will not submit the Booth application until right up to the deadline because a call from INSEAD at this time will put a halt on all applications.

      Who knows what’s in stock? I will be in Chicago for a few days beginning of May. Maybe the stars may just align.

      And guess what? Regardless of what happens from this application process, when it is all done, I will hunt you down. Yes, I will find you, and…

      …I will hug you.

  2. Cassie says:

    I’ve read the perfect pitch it’s fantastic. Your blog is quite interesting. I got dinged by hbs too (round 2) but got an interview with stanford…just waiting back to hear. Had l dinner with a friend of a friend who was invited to interview with…wait for it… HBS, wharton, LBS, columbia and Stanford. I wish I could take a sneak peek at his essays/cv. Oh well, everybody’s path is different. All the best with INSEAD.

    • knightmba says:

      Thank you for the kind words, Cassie.

      Haha! Our paths are certainly different, and I pray you get into Stanford. I am keeping my fingers crossed for you. Let me know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

