Interview invite from London Business School…

I was in the middle of making preparations at a travel agent for my trip to the US for the CFA Conference when I got the mail from London Business School. It was an interview invite for the second round of the Executive MBA Program. I was told to come over to Dubai on April 30, 2014 for the interview, which will also include a ten minute presentation.

A look at my itinerary and the costs of one way tickets halfway across the world and the thoughts of staying up in the skies for almost 30 hours within a space of 2 – 3 days was really scary. Maybe if I was going to fly first class all the way, I could have given it a second thought. I fired a mail back, and we concluded on doing the interview at the end of May.

Now, the only downside was that I would end up probably interviewing with Round 3 candidates, and the competitiveness could be a little tighter. But the upside is that I would have a full month to prepare for the interview and the presentation; the cost of waiting a little bit would probably be offset by a far much better preparation. I have been reading Pitch Perfect by Bill McGowan and I have seen ways on how to tremendously improve my presentation skills. Yea, so the wait would probably be worth it.

Another upside is that the number of INSEAD full time MBA candidates has been going down on MBA Connect. Maybe, I may get a call from INSEAD before the interview. If that happens, I will add the flight ticket to Dubai for the LBS interview to the INSEAD tuition fees. I hope it happens.

Fingers crossed.

4 thoughts on “Interview invite from London Business School…

  1. […] prep better—When an invitation to interview from London Business School arrived in the mail, Knight MBA had some thinking to do. Rather than rush into an early interview date allowing just a few days to […]

  2. Conrad says:

    Hi,

    My name is Conrad and I am emailing on behalf of Stacy Blackman Consulting (http://www.stacyblackman.com), which is the leading MBA admissions consulting firm. I was asked by Stacy to reach out because we have enjoyed reading your blog.

    I wanted to reach out to say that we are beginning our B-School Buzz Feature, where we highlight the top business school blog articles around the country. We are interested in selecting one of your articles to re-post on Stacyblackman.com. These articles will be posted on our blog, which receives tens of thousands of unique visitors every month, and will be broad-casted to our Facebook Page (5000+ fans) and our Twitter account. If we can ever be of any additional help, we would be happy to talk with you more.

    If you are interested, can you please email conrad@stacyblackman.com.

    Thanks for your time and energy.

    Best Regards,
    Conrad

  3. Good luck these next few day!

Leave a Reply

